New Bag: Village Tote

So, my Village Tote has arrived! I think it is going to work out perfect for me. It’s not my perfect purse by any stretch of the imagination, but I think it is the perfect carry-on. It’s a lovely beige tote bag that doesn’t really read as a tote bag. It also has a gorgeous blue lining, I think Baggalini calls the combination mushroom/Caspian blue.

20140514-083641.jpg
Standard Tote Bag Construction. On the front, there are three pockets: a large one with a magnetic snap flap closure, a small zippered pocket that is hard to see behind it (I’m not sure what the intention is for it, maybe pens?), and a large zippered padded pocket that fits my iPad, even in the keyboard case I have for it (which doubles the thickness).

20140514-083653.jpg
There are also deep full width slip pockets on each side, big enough for a good sized water bottle or umbrella. And one of my carry-on requirements – a zip bottom slip pocket with a magnetic snap closure. The bottom can be unzipped to allow it to slide over the handle of a wheeled piece of luggage so I don’t have to constantly carry it on my shoulder in the airport.

20140514-083713.jpg
This picture shows all the STUFF that I put into the bag in the next pic. Top row: organizer, coin purse that came with the bag, wallet, sunglasses, pen, sharpie, post-its, flash drives, hygiene kit. Middle-ish row: iPad in keyboard case, mini purse, patches, and other swag from the 2011 Convention (to represent the 2014 swag), lip balm #1, hand lotion, iPad and iPhone charging cables. Bottom row: my GS thank you cards, first aid kit, more Convention swag, lip balms #2 & #3, screen cleaner, keys, post-it flags.

20140514-083728.jpg
And room for a pashmina, snacks, a notebook, a larger organizer, and some Convention souvenirs left! I wouldn’t want to carry it around fully loaded, but for the plane trip, this will work.

Oh, and since I couldn’t get a good list anywhere of the interior pockets, there are:

  • Front side: one elastic loop for pen, lipstick, or lip balm; fairly large zippered pocket – you know, the pocket EVERY purse has.
  • Back side: Another elastic loop, one accordion pleated slip pocket, two pen pockets (deep enough and wide enough for sharpies), and a flat slip pocket about iPhone sized.
  • Sides: One side has a removable leash for keys (I have my flash drives on it). The other has a leash for the removable coin purse. The leash can be removed, too, creating a handle for the coin purse.

So sorry for the awful fuzzy pictures. These are actually the SECOND set I took of the bag, because the first ones were too dark. I’m an adventurer, not a photographer, sorry. 🙂

20140513-211950.jpg
This is probably how I will normally carry it. Not nearly as full. Oh, and that coin purse? I have plans for it. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Sewing For Travel | Earning my Adventurer Badge

Leave a Reply

