No Jacket Required

Woot! So after all my angst and worry about wearing a “professional” blazer to represent my Council in the most dignified way I can – now I find out I can actually be comfortable!  Once I was able to log on to the Delegate Resource site, I noticed that the exemplar piture they have of a woman in official Girl Scout uniform is wearing . . .

image

A navy sweater.  THIS navy sweater.  The one that is curently on sale for $9 at girlscoutshop.com and is listed as a T-SHIRT.

Rather than get my knickers in a twist over the unnecessary angst, I merely cheered loudly and made plans to return the blazer I bought to wear for the Convention (and that I would wear  NOWHERE ELSE).  I am totally going to get a waterfall style jacket instead, which is a design I love and I think looks much more attractive on my bulk than a structured jacket.

It will not look good over my white button down blouse, but my intention was to wear that on days when I didn’t wear a jacket anyway – I get too hot to wear a long sleeve shirt and a jacket.

So the lesson for other Girl Scout National Delegates (for 2014 and beyond), is that “business attire” in the GSUSA lexicon means “business casual” but don’t forget the scarf and pins!

Oh, and speaking of scarves – I found the one I really wanted on ebay, and it arrived, and I’m so loving it!  I was not a fan of the current scarf (not big on polka dots, and the background is a little too dark for me).  I would love either of the 100th Anniversary ones, but silk is out of my price range.  So I got one from several years ago, which I fell in love with months ago when I was reseaching the various scarves.

image

I love all the different blues and greens (except the chartreuse, I really hate chartreuse) on this scarf.  I like that it is an oblong scarf, as that seems easiest to work with (as a non-scarf-wearer).  And even though it is polyester, it has a really nice drape and feel.

What’s your favorite Girl Scout scarf?

Leave a Reply

