Trivial Details: SWAPs

IMG_3794.JPG

Special Whatchamacallit Affectionately Pinned Somewhere

If you’re a Girl Scout, you already know what these are.  If you’re not, there is lots of information out there.  I wasn’t sure I would bring any SWAPs to Convention.  The ones I would bring are fairly small and packable, but the problem is I have no idea what I will get in exchange.  I have gotten some SWAPs that were nearly 4″ square!  I’m trying to keep my packing fairly light, both coming and going.

But then I went to my Council Delegate Training meeting.  And our Council’s History Committee had gone through THOUSANDS of old GSSJC patches, and made up bags of about a hundred each with a nice mixture of patches in them.  Apparently, among the adults and delegates, Council patches are swapped more than actual SWAPs.  But it has to be patch for patch.

This is a BIG bag.  A gallon, packed to the gills.  Coming and going.

But then I think about getting 100 patches from different Councils across the country and from around the world.  Last Convention, I got patches from the UK and from Japan – and it was cool enough that I remember that off the top of my head.  And I think – they would make a really awesome quilt.  I should be able to find some Girl Scout fabric at the International Quilt Festival at the end of the month here in town.

But then I wonder should I make my other SWAPs?  They are something that seriously could not come from anyone but me this time around – though my girls made them to swap last Convention.  Basically, it’s a packet of sugar in a bag.  Imperial sugar.  Has to be Imperial sugar, because I live within biking distance of the original Imperial Sugar factory and sugar refinery.  My city is called “Sugar Land” because it was originally a company town for Imperial.

So what do you think?  Should I make the sugar SWAPs?  Would YOU want to swap me?  Or should I just stick with the patches, since I probably won’t be spending a huge amount of time down in the Hall of Experiences?

Leave a Reply

