What didn’t work

The Shoes.

My new boots that I thought I had gotten decently broken in.  Did. Not. Work.  I wore them to my GSU sessions the first morning I was there, and by the end of the first 90 minute session where I was SITTING the whole 90 minutes, I was in agony.  I don’t know if they weren’t broken in enough, or if my feet had swollen from all the walking, or from the altitude.  I just know I was sooooooooo happy I also brought my well-broken in walking shoes.

In fact, they were so well broken in that now that I have put another 30 miles on them over the course of the trip, they are pretty much done for.

The Pants.

I brought two pairs of pants with me, and I am SO grateful I did.  The first pair of pants I bought in May or June.  And then I lost 50 pounds.  Needless to say, they were about 2 sizes too big on me, and hung there, looking like a sack from my waist.  I had originally thought that they would be super comfortable to wear on the way home, you know, big and slouchy.  But come Sunday morning, I could not stomach the idea of wearing them again.  They were lined, and the lining had ripped at some point, making them even worse looking on me.

So I chucked them.  Just threw them away in the garbage.

I wore my other pair of blue pants, which fit perfectly, and saved a little space in my bag.

Laundry.

I had planned on washing my pajamas/workout clothes every morning after my workout in deference to my roommate’s nose.  Yeah, didn’t happen.  I did wash them after the second day, though (because 4 days without washing would have grossed me out), washing and rinsing in the sink and hanging to dry in the bathtub.  They were mostly dry by the time I wanted to get ready for bed, but I did move them and wring them again halfway through the day.

I also brought several dryer sheets to keep everything smelling “fresh”.

Leave a Reply

