What DID work – carry-on only

20140514-084457.jpg

 

See these two cute little bags?  They totally pulled it off.  I packed everything in them coming and going and carried them both on.  My little blue suitcase is not the maximum allowable size, so it easily slid into the overhead compartments of all three Southwest planes I flew on.  I probably could have even opened the expansion gusset on the way home if I had needed to.

But I didn’t need to.  I was able to bring back all my clothes (except those awful pants that were too big, but including the boots that I didn’t wear), plus all my new patches, plus all the paperwork and brochures and booklets, plus all the vendor swag (which I forgot to take a picture of before I gave it away to the girls in my troop), plus the dozen pencils I got for my troop (and they all arrived unbroken), plus the reusable grocery bag our swag came in, plus the freaking FULL SIZED BACKPACK that EF Tours was giving away!  Yeah, even though I brought a packable tote bag as a just in case measure, I ended up bringing home a freaking backpack.

And that was just in the suitcase.  My hygiene bag, SWAPs, water bottle, snacks, and other things I wanted to keep at my feet during the flights was in my tote bag.  Which working perfectly, as well.  It was perfect to take to the Council Session filled with my Delegate Workbook, notepad, cell phone, backup battery (which definitely got used!!), and patch bag.  Then it was also perfect for walking around the Hall of Experiences as a place to stuff all the vendor swag and brochures.  And it was perfect for doing some urban hiking around downtown.  And the big un-organized front pocket was perfect for dropping in the patches and SWAPs I received to keep them separate from my patches and not get lost in the bottom of the main compartment.

Also, I don’t know what they call it, but I LOVE the little pocket on the back of some bags (like my tote) with a zipper on the bottom which allows them to slide over the handle of a rolling bag.  LOVE IT.  Definitely look for one if you are looking for your next urban adventure bag.

Leave a Reply

